About the Board

Shadee Hardy, LCSW

President June 15, 2018-June 14, 2019
President-Elect June 15, 2017-June 14, 2018

Darin Bergen, Psy.D.

Past-President June 15, 2018-June 14, 2019
President June 15, 2017-June 14, 2018
President-Elect June 15, 2016-June 14, 2017
Darin Bergen is a licensed psychologist who works as a primary care psychologist for the VA Portland Healthcare System and runs a private practice in town. He supervises a postdoctoral fellowship in Primary Care/Mental Health Integration at the VA and is an Assistant Professor at OHSU. He earned his doctorate at George Fox University in 2007 after completing an internship at VA Salt Lake City and then completed a postdoctoral fellowship in Palliative Care and Geriatrics at VA Portland. He was first exposed to ACT in 2010 through a VA training and spent 6 challenging months under the supervision of Dr. Jason Luoma. He discovered a passion for ACT and continued to learn as much as he could and develop his skills. He now uses ACT in most of his cases and trains both his own VA trainees and OHSU psychiatry residents in ACT. He has particular interest in modifying ACT for brief therapy in primary care and deepening his own understanding of contextual science and relational frame theory. In addition to his emphasis in primary care, Darin helps individuals recover from divorce and find vibrant lives after dealing with professional burnout.

Alia Zelder, PsyD

President-Elect June 15, 2018-June 14, 2019

Melissa Soll, Ph.D.

Secretary-Treasurer June 15, 2016-June 14, 2019
Melissa Soll is a clinical psychologist who has been training intensively in ACT since 2006, enjoys working with individuals with richly diverse backgrounds, and uses ACT along with other evidence-based psychotherapy approaches to address a wide range of difficulties including post-traumatic stress disorder, grief, anxiety, depression, substance use difficulties and relationship concerns. Melissa utilizes mindfulness and compassion based treatments to aid health care workers and other professionals in coping with work-related stress and/or trauma, enhancing work-life balance, and finding joy in their work and personal lives. She completed a postdoctoral fellowship in palliative care psychology and has special expertise in using mindfulness and values-based interventions to help individuals cope with medical diagnoses, chronic pain, terminal illness, and end-of-life processes. Melissa has special interest in multicultural competence, ethics, professional burnout and self-care, and working effectively within interdisciplinary teams.

Sarah Verducci, LPC

Member-at-Large June 15, 2018-June 14, 2020

Jill Corvelli

Student Representative June 15, 2017-June 14, 2018
Jill Corvelli is a full time doctoral student and a licensed professional counselor, with private practice locations both in Portland and Lake Oswego. She started her career with a Masters in Organizational Dynamics from the University of Pennsylvania and worked as a management consultant focusing on strategic organizational change and culture interventions within fortune 500 companies. After starting a family, she sought work that consisted of the same elements she loved in consulting but did not involve life on the road and found herself going back for a second Masters degree- this one in professional counseling from South University. She has worked in private practice, agency, hospice and women’s centers domestically and abroad. She grounds herself in ACT and has a special focus applying it to individual and couples contending with adult ADHD. Her PhD will be in Counselor Education & Supervision and her research consists of on an ACT based intervention for individuals with adult ADHD.

Former Board Members

C. David Maxey, M.A.
Past-President June 15, 2017-June 14, 2018
President June 15, 2016-June 14, 2017
President-Elect June 1, 2015-June 14, 2016

Brian Thompson, Ph.D.
Past-President June 15, 2016-June 14, 2017
President June 1, 2015-June 14, 2016
President-Elect June 1, 2014-May 31, 2015

Jenna LeJeune, Ph.D.
Past-President June 1, 2015-June 14, 2016
President June 1, 2014-May 31, 2015
President-Elect May 1, 2013-May 31, 2014

Scott Rower, Ph.D.
Past-President June 1, 2014-May 31, 2015
President May 1, 2013-May 31, 2014

David Brillhart, Psy.D.
Secretary/Treasurer Sept. 15, 2013-June 14, 2016

Juliette Cutts, Psy.D.
Secretary/Treasurer May 1, 2013-July 10, 2013

Tim Wright
Member-at-Large June 15, 2016-June 14, 2018

Meghan Marty, Ph.D.
Member-At-Large June 1, 2014-June 14, 2016

Bennett Garner, M.D.
Member-At-Large May 1, 2013-May 31, 2014

Yeong-keun (Y.K.) Jeong
Student Representative June 15, 2016-June 14, 2017

Jesse Burrell, M.A.
Student Representative June 1, 2015-June 14, 2016
Student Representative June 1, 2014-May 31, 2015

Cassandra Sieg
Student Representative May 1, 2013-May 31, 2014

The Oregon Chapter of the Association for Contextual Behavioral Science, hereafter the Oregon Chapter, may provide addresses for other Internet sites for informational purposes. When users use any referenced external Web site, they are leaving the Oregon Chapter Web site and are subject to the privacy and security policies of the owners/sponsors of the external site. The Oregon Chapter does not endorse organizations that sponsor referenced external Web sites. In addition, Oregon Chapter does not endorse products or services that such organizations may offer. Furthermore, Oregon Chapter does not control or guarantee the currency, accuracy, relevance, or completeness of information found on referenced, external Web sites. The Oregon Chapter is not responsible for transmissions users may receive from referenced, external Web sites.